Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Places of Worship Advisory Board (POWAB)

Places of Worship Advisory Board (POWAB)
The Places of Worship Advisory Board September 2013

For more information about POWAB, faith initiatives, health fairs and/or HIV related information contact Regina Jefferson by calling 202-671-5063 or email regina.jefferson@dc.gov .

What is the Places of Worship Advisory Board (POWAB)?

POWAB is a collection of many different District of Columbia faith leaders working to build leadership, interfaith support, and provide spiritual guidance to people with HIV/AIDS and their families.

             Mission:  to work to end the spread of infectious diseases, support those living with diseases and their families, and to promote healthy living.

             Vision:  to work in tandem with the mission of the DC Department of Health and HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis, STD, and TB Administration (HAHSTA). To nurture a working interfaith network, build leadership, and provide resources and support to people living with HIV/AIDS and other infectious diseases. 

Past POWAB accomplishments have included:

  • Convening of two major conferences that brought together people of many faiths to address the current urgent HIV/AIDS situation in the District of Columbia.
  • Held workshops and trainings on how to best create an HIV/AIDS ministry within your place of worship.
  • Increased awareness of HIV and the many issues, stigma, and behaviors that surround HIV.
  • Helped many in the faith community realize that they were not immune from HIV
  • Increased testing in the DC faith community.

Why have a POWAB?

Communities of faith have a long history and deep roots in the District of Columbia. These communities are vital in reaching District residents who would otherwise feel that they are unaffected by the current HIV/AIDS pandemic. In reality many congregation members are becoming HIV infected. POWAB addresses the many difficult issues surrounding HIV infection in the faith community.

When does the POWAB meet?

POWAB meetings are open to anyone that wants to attend. Meetings are held every second Friday of the month at 899 North Capitol Street, NE. Food and beverages are provided.

Who is on the POWAB currently?

Place of Worship / Organization

Name

Email

Phone

Akoma Ntoaso Ministries

Rev. Dana Tolliver

revolds@verizon.net

202-404-8004

Balm in Gilead, The

Gertie Williams

gwilliams@balmingilead.org

804-644-2256

Black Leadership Commission
on AIDS of DC and Vicinity

Sullivan Robinson

Sullivanrobinson@msn.com

202-541-1031

Brighter Day United Methodist Church 

Valerie Crawford-Suggs        

crwfrdinchrist@aol.com        

240-604-1851

*Children’s National Parish Nursing Program             

Breda McNeely                   

Bmcneely@childrensnatioal.com

202-476-5235

*Children’s National Parish Nursing Program  

Gayle Jones                           

Gbjones@childrennational.com

202-476-5931

Department of Health / HAHSTA

Dr. Brenda Hicks

Brenda.Hicks@dc.gov

202-671-4900

First Baptist Church

Paulette Sheffield

epsheffdc@gmail.com

202-541-5000

Gospel Rescue Mission

Dr. Marjorie Brown

DrMarjorieJSB@aol.com

301-741-7248

Greater Mt. Calvary Holy Church

Elder Katitia Pitts

katitiaj15@yahoo.com

202-832-8190

Hunter Memorial AME Church

Dr. Rev. Brenda Crowder-Gains  

Classyme8@gmail.com

301-735-5761

Inner Light Ministries

Rev. Darryll .Moch

Nubianphoenix1@gmail.com

678-592-8949

*Med Star George Town University Hospital

Renata Hart

Renatahl@msn.com

301-875-4679

New Samaritan Rock
Baptist Church

Patrice Bailey               

Patrice.bailey@dc.gov

202-397-1870

New Samaritan Baptist Church

Carolyn L. Massey
POWAB Co-Chair

MasseyC2002@yahoo.com

240-821-4405

 

Twana Holmes

Twana.holmes@dc.gov  

202-671-4941

Set the Captive Free
Outreach Center  

 Lenora Davis                

Lenoradavis@aol.com

410-922-1621

Spiritualist  

Floyd Nelson
POWAB Co-Chair

Mrfloyfnelson@gmail.com                                                                     

202-489-8141

St. John Baptist De Lassalle       

Minister Paul McCarthy               

Paulmacarthy13@gmail.com                                                                

202-671-4959                                                            

 

Start at Westminster

George Kerr

gkerr@startatwestminster.org

202-863-8450

Union Temple Baptist Church

Robin Jackson

Ayoloway@verizon.net

301-814-0646

*Wesley Theological Seminary

Tom Pruski       

tpruski@wesleyseminary.edu

 

202-590-0511

* New Partnership

POWAB Resources

For more information about the board and interest in becoming a member please contact Regina Jefferson at (202) 671-5063 or regina.jefferson@dc.gov.

Contact TTY: 
711