DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH HEALTH REGULATION & LICENSING ADMINISTRATION

PROCEDURES TO OBTAIN/RENEW A LICENSE TO OPERATE A

ASSISTED LIVING RESIDENCE

Revised November 2011



GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Department of Health

Health Regulation & Licensing Administration

* ONE A

Dear Applicant:

Thank you for your interest in becoming an Assisted Living Residence provider in the

District of Columbia. Your desire to assist our elderly population in finding a supportive

and safe environment to live in is to be commended. Our elderly residents are one of our

most precious resources, and it is our sincerest hope, that your desire to assist them in

their placement provides you with a positive and rewarding experience. This brochure

provides a step-by-step guide for opening an Assisted Living Residence in the District of

Columbia. We look forward to a long and lasting working relationship with you and if

you require any further assistance with this process please contact Sharon H. Mebane,

Program Manager, Intermediate Care Facilities Division on (202) 724-8800.

Sincerely,

Sharon H. Mebane

Sharon H. Mebane Program Manager

Intermediate Care Facilities Division

2

An Applicant Must Complete Steps 1 Through 12 To Obtain A License To Operate A **Assisted Living Residence**

(Assisted Living Residence Regulatory Act of 2000)

Step 1: Make application for a Certificate of Occupancy (C of O) at the location listed below:

> **Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs** 1100 4th Street, SW Washington, DC 20024 Phone: (202) 442-4400

Note: The C of O must be issued in the name of the perspective operator.

Step 2: Obtain an application form for an Assisted Living Residence by calling or visiting the location listed below:

> **Department of Health Health Regulation & Licensing Administration** 899 North Capitol Street, N.E. 2nd Floor (202) 724-8800

You may also visit our website at www.doh.dc.gov and/or

http://hrla.doh.dc.gov/hrla/cwp/view,a,1384,q,573800,hrlaNav,%7C33257%7C.asp

Step 3: Application to legally incorporate your business can be done at the location listed below if desired:

> **Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs Office of Corporations** 1100 4th Street, SW Washington, DC 20024

Phone: (202) 442-4400

Step 4: Submit a completed licensure application package to the mailing address listed in Step 2.

The required items include:

- Completed application
- License Fee of \$100.00 plus \$6.00 per resident bed for initial licensure and annual licensure (check or money order made *payable to DC Treasurer*)

- Clean Hand Act Certification form
- An original Certificate of Good Standing, if applicable (The Certificate can be obtained from the DCRA, Office of Corporations, mailing address listed in Step 1)

Note: If you are submitting an application for initial licensure, in addition to the items above, please include the following with your completed application:

- Identification of the owner and documentation supporting the fact that the ALR is owned or otherwise under the control o the applicant;
- Identification of the Assisted Living Administrator (ALA) and information concerning the ALA's qualifications;
- Criminal background check information pursuant to the Health Care
 Facility Unlicensed Personnel Criminal Background Check Act of 1998;
- Documentation and explanation of any prior denial, suspension, or revocation of license to provide care to third parties;
- Location of the ALR;
- Statement of program;
- Proof of solvency;
- Statement of services to be offered;
- Maximum number of residents planned;
- Verification that the real property where the ALR is located is owned, leased, or otherwise under the control of the applicant; and
- Structure of applicant's organization and names of board members and officers.

Agency's that are renewing their license are required to submit information regarding any changes in your program statement or services with your completed application package.

Initial licensure inspection

- Step 5: The applicant will be notified of the date and time of the initial licensure inspection by the Intermediate Care Facilities Division.
- Step 6: If deficiencies are identified during the initial licensure inspection, a Statement of Deficiencies and Plan of Correction Report will be prepared and forwarded to the applicant within 15 days of the survey's completion.
- Step 7: The applicant is required to submit a documented Plan of Correction, within 15 days of the date the Statement of Deficiencies was received, that details how the deficiencies were corrected. The applicant has 30 days from the date of inspection to correct the deficiencies.
- Step 8: Surveyors may conduct a follow-up visit upon receipt of a Plan of Correction to verify compliance with all laws and regulations, if required.

- Step 9: If an applicant fails to submit a Plan of Correction or fails to correct the deficiencies within 30 days of receipt of the deficiencies, the application will be denied. If an application is denied, an applicant must reapply.
- Step 10: If there are no deficiencies cited at the time of the initial licensure inspection by the Intermediate Care Facilities Division, or once cited deficiencies are corrected, the application will be approved and the Intermediate Care Facilities Division shall issue a regular license for one (1) year. Permission is officially given at the time to operate the Assisted Living Residence.