Department of Health

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Board of Medicine Members

The Board currently by statute shall be composed of no more than fifteen (15) members appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the Council. Ten (10) members must be licensed physicians in the District of Columbia, four (4) shall be consumer members, and one (1) member must be the Director of the Department of Health or his/her designee.

There are currently 12 members serving on the Board - 9 physician members, 1 statutory member representing the Director of the Department of Health, and 2 consumer members. The Board meets the last Wednesday of every month unless noted otherwise.

Member Name Specialty Member Type Appointment Date
Janis Orlowski, MD
Nephrology Physician Member January 2010
Lawrence A. Manning, MD Orthopedics Physician Member November 2002
Marc Rankin, MD Orthopedics Physician Member August 2009
Jeffrey P. Smith, MD Emergency Medicine & Internal Medicine Physician Member November 2012
Andrea Anderson, MD Family Medicine Physician Member August 2012
Kelly Ann Colden, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology Physician Member November 2012
Brendan R. Furlong, MD Emergency Medicine Physician Member November 2012
Bernard Arons, MD Psychiatry Physician Member November 2012
Anitra Denson, MD Pediatrics Statutory Member July 2011
Thomas Dawson, Esq.   Consumer/Public Member August 2012
Terrence D. Straub   Consumer/Public Member November 2013
Treazure Johnson, Esq.   Consumer Member February 2014