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GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 
Department of Health 

 
Health Regulation  

 & Licensing Administration  

       

 

 

Dear Applicant: 

 

 

Thank you for your interest in becoming an Assisted Living Residence provider in the 

District of Columbia.  Your desire to assist our elderly population in finding a supportive 

and safe environment to live in is to be commended.  Our elderly residents are one of our 

most precious resources, and it is our sincerest hope, that your desire to assist them in 

their placement provides you with a positive and rewarding experience. This brochure 

provides a step-by-step guide for opening an Assisted Living Residence in the District of 

Columbia.  We look forward to a long and lasting working relationship with you and if 

you require any further assistance with this process please contact Laura A. Hunte, 

Supervisory Health Services Program Specialist, Intermediate Care Facilities Division on 

(202) 442-4736.     

 

 

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Sharon H. Mebane 
 

Sharon H. Mebane 

Program Manager 

Intermediate Care Facilities Division 
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An Applicant Must Complete The Following Steps To Obtain A License To Operate An 

Assisted Living Residence  

(Assisted Living Residence Regulatory Act of 2000) 

 

 

Step 1: Make application for a Certificate of Occupancy (C of O) if the 

application is for seven (7) or more residents, at the location listed below: 

 

Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs 

Building and Land Regulation Administration 

1100 4
th

 Street, SW 

Washington, DC 20024 

 

Note:  The C of O may be issued in the name of the perspective operator 

or as a trade name.   

 

Step 2: Obtain an application form for an Assisted Living Residence by calling or 

visiting the location listed below: 

 

 Department of Health 

 Health Regulation & Licensing Administration 

 899 North Capitol Street, N.E. 

 2
nd

 Floor 

 (202) 724-8800 

 

You may also visit our website at www.doh.dc.gov  

 

 

Please mail in or hand deliver your application as indicated below: 

 

Mailing Address: 

Department of Health 

Health Regulation and Licensing Administration 

Intermediate Care Facilities Division 

P.O. Box 37804 

Washington, DC 20013 

 

Walk-in Address: 

Department of Health 

Health Regulation and Licensing Administration 

License Processing Center 

899 North Capitol Street, NE, 15t Floor 

Washington, DC 20002 

http://www.doh.dc.gov/
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Step 3:  Application to legally incorporate your business can be done at the 

                        location listed below, if desired: 

 

   Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs 

   Office of Corporations 

1100 4
th

 Street, SW 

Washington, DC 20024 

 
    

Step 4:  Submit a completed licensure application package to 

the mailing address listed in Step 2.   

 

The required items include: 

 

 Completed application 

 License Fee of $100.00 plus $6.00 per resident bed for initial 

licensure and annual licensure (check or money order made 

payable to DC Treasurer)  

 Clean Hand Act Certification form 

 An original Certificate of Good Standing, if applicable (The 

Certificate can be obtained from the DCRA, Office of 

Corporations, mailing address listed in Step 1) 

 

Note: If you are submitting an application for initial licensure, in addition to the 

items above, please include the following with your completed application: 
 

 Identification of the owner and documentation supporting the fact that the 

ALR is owned or otherwise under the control o the applicant; 

 Identification of the Assisted Living Administrator (ALA) and information 

concerning the ALA’s qualifications; 

 Criminal background check information pursuant to the Health Care 

Facility Unlicensed Personnel Criminal Background Check Act of 1998; 

 Documentation and explanation of any prior denial, suspension, or 

revocation of license to provide care to third parties; 

 Location of the ALR; 

 Statement of program; 

 Proof of solvency; 

 Statement of services to be offered; 

 Maximum number of residents planned; 

 Verification that the real property where the ALR is located is owned, 

leased, or otherwise under the control of the applicant;  

 Operational policies and procedures; and  

 Structure of applicant’s organization and names of board members and 

officers. 
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Agency’s that are renewing their license are required to submit information regarding 

any changes in your program statement or services with your completed application 

package. 

Initial licensure inspection 

 

Step 5: The applicant will be notified of the date and time of the initial licensure 

inspection by the Intermediate Care Facilities Division. 

 

Step 6: If deficiencies are identified during the initial licensure inspection, a 

Statement of Deficiencies and Plan of Correction Report will be prepared 

and forwarded to the applicant within 15 days of the survey’s completion. 

 

Step 7: The applicant is required to submit a documented Plan of Correction, 

within 15 days of the date the Statement of Deficiencies was received, that 

details how the deficiencies were corrected.  The applicant has 30 days 

from the date of inspection to correct the deficiencies.  

 

Step 8: Surveyors may conduct a follow-up visit upon receipt of a Plan of 

Correction to verify compliance with all laws and regulations, if required.   

 

Step 9: If an applicant fails to submit a Plan of Correction or fails to correct the 

deficiencies within 30 days of receipt of the deficiencies, the application 

will be denied.  If an application is denied, an applicant must reapply. 

 

Step 10: If there are no deficiencies cited at the time of the initial licensure 

inspection by the Intermediate Care Facilities Division, or once cited 

deficiencies are corrected, the application will be approved and the 

Intermediate Care Facilities Division shall issue a regular license for one 

(1) year.  Permission is officially given at the time to operate the Assisted 

Living Residence.  
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