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GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 
Department of Health 

 
Health Regulation  
 & Licensing Administration  
       
 
 
 
 
 
Dear Applicant: 
 
 
Thank you for your interest in becoming a Child Placing Agency provider in the District 

of Columbia.  Your desire to assist children in finding a loving and safe environment to 

live in is to be commended.  Children are our most precious resource, and it is our 

sincerest hope, that your desire to assist them in their placement provides you with a 

positive and rewarding experience.  This brochure provides a step-by-step guide for 

opening a Child Placing Agency in the District of Columbia.  We look forward to a long 

and lasting working relationship with you and if you require any further assistance with 

this process please contact Laura A. Hunte, Supervisory Heath Services Program 

Specialist, Intermediate Care Facilities Division on (202) 724-8800.     

 

 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Sharon H. Mebane 
 
Sharon H. Mebane 
Program Manager 
Intermediate Care Facilities Division 
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An Applicant Must Complete Steps 1 Through 12 To Obtain A License To Operate A 
Child Placing Agency  

(Title 29, DC Municipal Regulations, Chapter 16) 
 

 
Step 1: Make application for a Certificate of Occupancy (C of O) at the location 

listed below: 
 

Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs 
1100 4th Street, SW 
Washington, DC 20024 
Phone: (202) 442-4400 

 
Note:  The C of O must be issued in the name of the perspective operator.   
 

Step 2: Obtain an application form for a Child Placing Agency by calling or 
visiting the location listed below: 
 
 Department of Health 
 Health Regulation & Licensing Administration 
 899 North Capitol Street, NE 

2nd Floor 
 (202) 724-8800 
You may also visit our website at www.doh.dc.gov and/or  

 
http://hrla.doh.dc.gov/hrla/cwp/view,a,1384,q,573800,hrlaNav,%7C33257%7C.asp  

 
Step 3: Make application to legally incorporate your business as a non-profit 

agency at the location listed below:   
 

Department of Consumer and Regulatory Affairs 
Office of Corporations 
1100 4th Street, SW 
Washington, DC 20024 
Phone: (202) 442-4400 

 
Step 4:    Submit a completed licensure application package to 

the mailing address listed in Step 2.   
 
The required items include: 
 
 Completed application 
 License Fee of $455.00 for initial licensure or annual re-licensure 

(check or money order made payable to DC Treasurer)  
 Clean Hand Act Certification form 

http://www.doh.dc.gov/
http://hrla.doh.dc.gov/hrla/cwp/view,a,1384,q,573800,hrlaNav,%7C33257%7C.asp
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 An original Certificate of Good Standing (The Certificate can be 
obtained from the DCRA, Office of Corporations, mailing address 
listed in Step 1) 

 
Note:  If you are submitting an application for initial licensure, in addition 
to the items above, please include the following with your completed 
application:   

 
 A copy of the program statement as required by 29 DCMR, 

Sections 1602; 
 The list of the agency’s Board Members, including full names and 

addresses as required by 29 DCMR, Section 1602.5; 
 The agency’s written policy for the rotation of board members as 

required by 29 DCMR, Section 1602.3; 
 Three letters of reference for each board member that certifies the 

member is of good character as required by 29 DCMR, Section 
1602.5; 

 A criminal background investigative report on each board member 
as required by 29 DCMR, Section 1602.5; 

 The agency’s organizational table that reflects the administrative 
structure and staffing of the agency as required by 29 DCMR, 
Section 1604.1; 

 The agency’s personnel policies and procedures as required by 29 
DCMR, Section 1610.3 (a-i); 

 The listing of staff and positions, including contract social 
worker(s) as required by 29 DCMR, Sections 1612, 1614, and 
1616; 

 The agency’s projected budget that details the anticipated income 
and expenses for the coming year as required by 29 DCMR, 
Section 1605; 

 The agency’s policy that describes the relationship between fees 
and services provided and the conditions under which fees are 
charged, waived, and refunded as required by 29 DCMR, Section 
1608.2; and 

 The agency’s policy on protecting the confidentiality of personnel 
and client records as required by 29 DCMR, Section 1637.1. 

 
Agency’s that are renewing their license are required to submit information regarding 

any changes in your program statement or services with your completed application 
package. 

 
Initial licensure inspection: 

 
Step 5: The applicant will be notified of the date and time of the initial licensure 

inspection by the Intermediate Care Facilities Division. 
 



 5 

Step 6: If deficiencies are identified during the initial licensure inspection, a 
Statement of Deficiencies and Plan of Correction Report and will be 
prepared and forwarded to the Applicant within 10 days of the survey’s 
completion. 
 

Step 7: The applicant is required to submit a documented Plan of Correction, 
within 10 days of the date the Statement of Deficiencies was received that 
details how the deficiencies were corrected.  The applicant has 30 days 
from the date of inspection to correct the deficiencies 

 
Step 8: Surveyors may conduct a follow-up visit upon receipt of a Plan of 

Correction to verify corrections, if required 
 
Step 9: If an applicant fails to submit a Plan of Correction or fails to correct the 

deficiencies within 30 days of receipt of the deficiencies, the application 
will be denied.  If an application is denied, an applicant must reapply.  

 
Step 10: If the application is approved, the Intermediate Care Facilities Division 

shall issue an initial 90-day provisional license.  Permission is given at this 
time to operate the child placing agency.   

 
Step 11: Surveyors will conduct an unannounced onsite visit prior to the expiration 

of the provisional license to verify continued compliance. 
 
Step 12: If the facility is in full or substantial compliance with the requirements, a 

regular license for one (1) year will be issued.   
 

 


	Sharon H. Mebane

